Skip to content ↓

Young debaters impress council stalwarts

Published on 05/02/19

The team to defend Great Yarmouth Charter's debating crown has been selected after a series of heats, judged by seasoned councillors.

Great Yarmouth Borough Council members Trevor Wainwright, Andy Grant, and David Drewitt listened to six teams of Year 9 and Year 10 pupils battle it out to represent their school in the Great Yarmouth Schools' Debate Competition.

Georgia Harvey, Kenny Pitts and Lauren Revell won the competition last year, the second time the school had triumphed.

On Monday this year's team were selected after debates covering the death penalty, lowering the voting age, and freedom of movement after Brexit.

The winning team were Victoria Davison, Jordon Alsop, and Aidan Barros, who will now take part in debates with other local schools.

Teacher Vikki Savage said: "It was great to see our pupils demonstrating their debating skills and making arguments for and against such a diverse range of topics.

"We are also very grateful to Councillors Wainwright, Grant, and Drewitt for giving up their time to judge the debates."