Inspiration Trust

Sir Isaac People

The Principal

sir-issaac.pngDr Mark Evans
Dr Mark Evans specialises in education management of A-Level programmes, his practice led by the analysis and application of the research base on educational effectiveness.  Mark, a former Head of Science, was formerly Deputy Headteacher of a 500 student Sixth Form Centre.  His interest in translating educational research findings into effective paper and digital resources for the teaching, learning and assessment of Science has resulted in his commercially published materials being adopted in more than half of the UK’s secondary schools.

rachel.pngChief Executive: Dame Rachel de Souza
Dame Rachel de Souza was appointed Chief Executive of the Inspiration Trust on the 1st September 2013. She joins the Trust having rapidly transformed two failing schools in challenging circumstances, leading each school to gain an outstanding Ofsted judgment within a three year period. Dame Rachel’s first academy became Britain’s most improved school in 2007-2010, also winning numerous national awards under her leadership.

After Mr Gove visited Dame Rachel de Souza’s last academy on the 23rd June 2012 he said, “If anyone asked me what my ideal education policy would be it would be to clone Rachel 23.000 times” and when you read her latest ‘outstanding’ OfSTED report 2013 you can see why.

Governing body

David Prior - Chairman
David Prior is Chairman of the Care Quality Commission and was Chairman of the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust for 10 years. A barrister and former Norfolk MP, he has broad experience at a senior level in the business world, working for Lehman Brothers, Lazards and British Steel.

Rachel de Souza
A respected figure in British education, Rachel de Souza has a reputation for transformational education. She was Principal of two special measures schools which rapidly become outstanding. She is Chief Executive of the Norfolk-based Inspiration Trust.

Lara Cole
Lara works as a property Consultant for Keystone Law. She has extensive experience in real estate matters, acting for investors, developers, landlords, occupiers and administrators. Previously she worked as a Consultant with Eversheds and was Group Legal Counsel for the Targetfollow Group, a privately owned commercial property company.

Lizzie Boone
Norfolk-born, Lizzie won an Armada Dish at the Badminton Horse Trials in 1984 and was part of the British team selected for the 1980 Olympics. In 1981 she was a member of the team that won a European Gold Medal in Denmark.  After a spell in South Africa, she now coaches young people in horsemanship and runs a small farm breeding horses.

Jon Humphreys
Jon is an independent driving instructor working in Norwich, he has 2 children currently attending Norwich Primary Academy. For the past two years Jon was a governor at the school and was chair last year during the conversion to Academy status.  Jon is also a Governor of the Earlham Early Years Nursery school on the same site.

John Pickering
John is an electrical engineer and designer and a Director of Metron Designs, Norwich.

Camilla Prior
Camilla, who lives in Suffolk, has been involved in the property sector as the Director of several companies.

Ed Sidgwick
Ed, who was educated at Gresham’s and Durham University, works for Barratt & Cooke, stockbrokers. A keen sailor, he is an Associate of the Chartered Institute for Securities & Investments.

Mark Neild
Educated at The Perse School, Cambridge, Mark Neild gained a degree in Mathematics at Edinburgh University. He taught Mathematics at George Watson’s College where he became a Head of House and set up a community service programme, supporting the school’s International Baccalaureate qualification. Mark has been at The Thetford Academy since its inception and now works as Vice Principal for Curriculum and Data. He has worked with the DfE as part of the consultation on the mathematics curriculum.

Role of the Governing Body >>

The Advisory Board

The Advisory Board currently includes Archie Norman, the Chairman of ITV, John Wells, a Harvard Professor, David Taitt, Chairman of Hethel Engineering Centre.

Bookmark and Share

Sir Isaac Newton Sixth Form

The Old Fire Station, 30 Bethel Street, Norwich NR2 1NR

01603 280940

Sitemap | Terms | Accessibility | Cookies policy

© Inspiration Trust 2014. All rights reserved. Registered number: 08179349
Registered office: The Close, Norwich, NR1 4DJ

Website by The Specialists